ATW S3 Chapter 2: Prepare for the Worst

01-17-16_8-03-08-pm

Emerson glanced up from his homework to see a familiar figure standing behind him. “Oh, hi, you’re…”

“Rosalynn. Your grandma. You’ve certainly grown up since the last time I saw you- back then, you were just a baby.”

“Oh. Can you help me with this?”

“Sure. What’s your project?”

“It’s about the water cycle- tomorrow in class, my partner and I will be drawing a poster about it. Tonight, I’m supposed to do research about what it is, but Mindy’s at work and Mom went grocery shopping.”

01-17-16_8-03-05-pm

“Hmm…. Let’s see what I can remember- I can’t believe they’re still having you kids do this same project.”

“Who was your partner, Grandma?”

Rosalynn smiled fondly. “Alexander Goth. Your grandpa. My husband.”

Emerson’s scrunched-up face showed her what he thought. “You mean… Darion, the new kid, is the person I’m gonna marry someday?”

“Not necessarily. Your mother worked in a group of three with your Aunt Annabeth and my half-sister, Regina. But now that I think about it… I believe your Uncle Henry David worked with your Aunt Hailey. Matias… now who did Matias work with?” Rosalynn pondered, trying to remember.

“Aww, you don’t need to give me a history lesson. Just tell me how the water cycle works!”

“Are you secretly meeting up with girls already?”

“No! I just want to go outside and play, but I’m not allowed to go out after dark and Mom said that I have to do my homework first!”

“Okay, I understand. Your mother was the exact same way- I was always scrubbing spots of mud out of her clothing when she first started out on the monkey bars, but once she got the hang of it and stopped falling I was rubbing stains out of a lot less of her clothing. Speaking of mud, did you know that it’s actually a mixture of water and dirt? When it dries out, the water is evaporated into the air, and condenses to form clouds…” Rosalynn explained as Emerson scribbled down notes.

***

01-17-16_8-07-27-pm

“It looks like there’s still plenty of time for you to play. Now give me one last hug before I have to go.”

“I love you Grandma!” Emerson said, wrapped in her ghostly embrace. “See you later!”

01-17-16_8-06-46-pm

Even I can’t prepare them for what’s to come… I’m sorry, my son.

<<Previous– S3 Chapter 1: Things will get Better

>>Next– S3 Chapter 3: Surprise

3 thoughts on “ATW S3 Chapter 2: Prepare for the Worst

Leave a Reply

