The Sunshine Blogger Award

I was nominated for this award by the lovely subtlesimmer, who is the author of An Unclean Slate. Thank you!

Rules:

Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
Nominate 11 bloggers and add their links.
Notify the bloggers you included.
Keep the rules in your post.

subtlesimmer’s Questions for Me:

  1. What initially made you want to write SimLit?

You know, I’m not sure exactly when I even heard of SimLit. It was definitely before we had that word for it, though. Somehow I ended up coming across a few simmers’ story blogs, found a website for SimLit writers and joined it (it’s closed now), and had the idea that “someday” I was going to write a story based off of a challenge that I came across in journal-style. Needless to say, that didn’t happen and instead I started writing about the descendants of Rosalynn, who was one of the first sims that I ever made (fun fact: I made her as a child living with her single mother). I figured that if I was going to go to such lengths so that all of Mary Anne’s family would know about her engagement, I may as well take some screenshots, write a bit, and share them with the world.

2. Favorite Sims game? (The Sims, Sims 2, Sims 3, Sims 4)

I’m horrible at choosing favorites because I love so many different things, and this is no exception. I considered digging an old dart board out of my basement, dividing it into quadrants, and assigning each of those to one of the games, then throwing a dart at it to decide, until I realized that,

a.  I have no idea where it is or if we even have it anymore

b. I probably wouldn’t even be able to hit the board

Therefore, I decided against that idea, and instead I’ve decided to tell you what I love about each of them. The Sims was the first one that proved that people actually enjoyed the whole concept of a life simulator. The Sims 2 expanded upon the original idea, improved the graphics, and added so many details about the sims themselves. The Sims 3 expanded upon the world and added so much to explore (and also was my first introduction to the series via other simmers’ Let’s Plays). The Sims 4 expanded upon the era- when I play Sims 2, the things that I find I miss the most from the Sims 4 are the small things, like the ability to use pretty much anything for any outfit and the fewer restrictions on relationships (I can make an elder that has kids who are children straight out of CAS!). It was also the first Sims game that I ever played for myself.

3. Adding on to question 2, what expansion/game/stuff pack is your favorite?

Sims 2 Apartment Life, for sure. Belladonna Cove is my favorite town to play in, and it added some of the best features: playground equipment, roommates, witches, and (gasp) apartments.

4. Favorite the about a legacy if you’ve done one?

I haven’t played a legacy.

5. Have you ever done a challenge outside of a legacy?

I’ve started a 100 Baby Challenge in 4, as well as a Black Widow Challenge in 2. I’ve never finished any challenges, though.

6. Do you use/enjoy custom content or no custom content? Why or why not?

I hope it’s fairly obvious that I use cc. It just gives me so many more option for diversity in my sims and making sim-versions of specific characters from other things.

7. Which do you prefer- game driven or plot driven SimLit?

I would have to say game driven. It’s a lot less stressful to write/screenshot from my perspective as a writer, and as a reader I haven’t had too much luck with plot driven SimLit- it’s either too predictable or not something I can really get into.

8. What is your most favorite sim you’ve ever created and why?

I didn’t think that answering these questions would be this hard (side note- I did have to skip this question and come back to it when answering). This one is especially hard to answer because I haven’t actually made a lot of sims- the sims of mine that you’ve seen are mainly created from genetics/the CAS randomizer. After a very long deliberation, which involved choosing my four favorite sims and narrowing it down from there, I’ve decided who my favorite sim that I’ve created is… which should’ve been obvious from the start considering that he’s my current avi in most places.

wylan collage

This is Wylan Van Eck from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (see question 10). He’s a runaway from a rich family who excels at math, chemistry, physics, and playing the flute. He also can’t read or write and says that the words get “mixed up”, so it’s generally assumed that he has dyslexia. And he blushes a lot, which is the most adorable thing. He’s the most inexperienced in this whole thieving thing, but his knowledge of chemistry does allow him to make bombs. He’s into guys as well… AND HE’S GOING TO GET CHAPTERS FROM HIS PERSPECTIVE IN THE NEXT BOOK! If you couldn’t tell already, he’s my favorite character, which is part of the reason why I’ve chosen him as my favorite sim. The other reason is that I think I did a pretty good job on capturing him in sim-form and striking a balance between all of the different fan-art, the “official” artwork, his descriptions in the book, and my vision for what he looks like.

 

9. Favorite genre? Of anything; books, movies, shows… SimLit 😉

Definitely Sci-Fi. Fantasy comes in as a close second, but it has to be done well. I think my answer fits pretty much everything (that experimental food in Dine Out looks very Sci-Fi).

10. Have you ever based a Sims family off of a series? e.g. Harry Potter, Twilight, Grey’s Anatomy, etc.

I’ve made the six main characters from Six of Crows (which you should really read if you haven’t already), however they won’t be complete until we have canes that can be used for all ages and I find some good knife and pistol cc pieces. Plus there’s one other character that got introduced at the end of the book that I want to make, but I’m waiting until the sequel comes out and I’ve read it so I can get a better feel for him. I’ve also made a few characters from Frozen (which is apparently getting a sequel).

11. Favorite thing to do besides simming?

Reading/writing SimLit and participating in this awesome community are all tied for second 😉

My Nominations:

  1. CathyTea’s SimLit Anthology

2.    SummerFalls’ Stories

3.    Stories by Jes2G

4.    Julyvee’s Sims Stories

5.    Sims stories- adventures in the Sims world

6.    JoieWilder’s Sims 4 Blog

7.    Raerei’s Fortress

8.    A Penguin’s Adventure in Simming

9.    Legacies of the Sims

10.  friendsfan36

11.  trulycurly

Questions for My Nominees:

  1. What’s the best part of writing SimLit for you?

2.    And the worst part?

3.    How did you first find out about SimLit?

4.    What’s one part of your day that you always look forward to?

5.    If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be?

6.    How did you find The Sims (insert the appropriate number here)?

7.    What’s one thing that you would describe as beautiful?

8.    Is there anything interesting about you that other people don’t know?

9.    What’s one thing that almost always motivates you?

10.  Favorite SimLit- or simming- related memory?

11.  What’s one thing that always makes you smile?

5 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

