The Spirit Animal Award

Hi! It feels really weird speaking as myself, about myself for a full post, but I’ve got some very special news! I was nominated for the Spirit Animal Blogging Award by Darra84/Daalia. She writes a Sims 4 story called My Incredible Adventure in the Sims 4 World and also has a YouTube channel where she does Sims 3 and Sims 4 Let’s Plays in both English and Polish. This was an awesome post-birthday surprise, so thank you!

Edit: the next fall, I was also nominated by Charliimai, who writes The SIMple Life of Una Reign. Thank you for this nomination!

Here are the rules for the award:

  1. Post the award picture on your blog.
  2.  Write a short paragraph about yourself and what your blog means to you.
  3.  If you could be any animal, what would you be?
  4.  Pick ten nominees

About Myself

My name is Madison and I’m a teenager living in the US. I enjoy reading, writing, playing the Sims games (as well as other video games) and hanging out with my friends (both on- and off-line). I am also involved in my school’s concert orchestra and robotics team, as well as a book club at my local library.

What my Blog Means to Me

My blog is a way that I can share my stories with the world, and within those I can express my thoughts and feelings freely without judgement of myself. Using The Sims to illustrate them allows me to combine two of my favorite things and make the experiences that my stories provide even better for readers.

My Spirit Animal

My spirit animal would be a crow. Most people would be surprised to find that they are very smart animals and I know that a lot of people are very surprised when they get to know me! It can also symbolize intelligence, fearlessness, adaptability, and mischief, which are all a part of me. Fun fact: a group of crows is called a murder.

I Nominate:

Quick Note: I’ve decided to include a large variety of blogs that I love. They might feature written stories, machinima, or builds for the Sims 2, 3, or 4, or they may not be related to the games at all! Sites that are recommended for more mature readers will be marked with a *. Blogs are listed in no particular order.

  1.  Cathy Tea’s Simlit Anthology – CathyTea is a wonderful author and her now-completed Goofy Love Legacy was one of the first SimLit works that I read. She has a whole bunch of stories, some completed and some ongoing, and her works are very introspective.
  2.  Summerfalls’ Stories – SummerFalls’ now-completed Wonder Child Challenge was another one of the first SimLit stories that I read. Leliana Frenlore will always have a very special place in my heart! He also has a couple other stories- Rocky Road and The Devine Legacy.
  3. Plus Size’d – Even though this story only has one part up, it carries themes that anyone can relate to, even if they don’t wear plus-sized clothing. Some of the more “Mean Girls” aspects are very relatable for me, as well as some of the criticism that the main character gets from her mother.
  4. Innocence – Okay, so the actual machinima is posted on YouTube, but I love this one so much. The blog that I’ve linked contains links to the machinima parts, as well as some behind-the-scenes goodies. This is one of the very few Sims 2 stories that I’ve seen/read and enjoyed, and the creator has put a lot of work into the series so far, from custom content making to posing, screenshotting, and writing. This story really shows how much of an effect that others’ words and actions can have on ourselves, which is a message that I think everyone should keep in mind.
  5.  Simply Vanilla Sims – This blog tells the story of the Prospero family, which is being played as a Rosebud Challenge. There are also several lot builds, as well as links to the creator’s YouTube channel. Even though I do use custom content and mods in my game, I still find this blog enjoyable because it exposes me to someone who plays in a very different way than I do (and I’m not just talking about the modded/vanilla difference).
  6.  Friendsfan36 – Meet the Benders, an alphabacy family that keeps finding themselves plopped down in a new world and surrounded by children (jk! you know I love you!). Friends is a super sweet and endearing person who is wonderful to chat with (as well as one of the co-founders of the Writers’ Lounge).
  7.  It’s An Olivia Love World – Olivia Love, a 1st grader, doesn’t actually enjoy 1st grade. She isn’t allowed to sit where she wants to, one of her classmates is mean to her, and her mom and teacher both got mad at her. But she does have lots of very fun adventures, which I can’t wait to see more of after the blog comes off of hiatus!
  8.  Kaye’s Days – Even though this blog author also has a simming blog (which you can find here), I decided to nominate this blog because I may or may not have just realized that she had simming blog when I went to double-check that she hadn’t made an acceptance post for this award yet (big “oops” on my part). Anyways, this is one of the very few “real life” blogs that I read because almost all the other ones are kids-makeup-cooking-advice-fashion-popularpeople-travel kind of blogs, which really don’t appeal to me. Kaye seems very real to me as she talks about her life and the various experiences that she’s had within it, which is also something that I don’t see in very many non-simming blogs.
  9.  The Poindexter Legacy – If you didn’t think that a geek could make a name for himself and establish a legacy, think again. Edison Poindexter starts a legacy with the geek exemplar trait (if you’re not sure what that means, click here), gets himself a wife, who works at Omniscience in a different department than he does, and has a daughter. Geeks Unite!
  10.  Frenemies – This completed Sims 4 story features Jessica Rhodes and Chelsea Green, who are forced to live under the same roof after Chelsea’s mom goes on a space expedition. The two start out with a very rocky relationship, but by the end of the story they are in a very different place, both literally and relationship-wise.
7 thoughts on “The Spirit Animal Award

Leave a Reply

