The Lost Prince: Chapter 15

Anna was transferred back to her room and was in her bed when she found out that even the castle physician had no idea what she had injured when she fell. Now she could feel the pain near the end of her backbone, which caused her to be barely able to move; it was so strong. For her, the days passed in a blur of sleeping, eating, and pain.

Finally, after about a week, the pain lessened enough that Anna was able to have visitors, and that was when she realized that Elsa had disappeared. “Gerda,” she asked of her maid one day, “Where’s Elsa gone to? I haven’t seen her at all, not since the accident.”

“I haven’t the faintest idea, your highness,” Gerda replied, which was true though she had her suspicions.

“Could- could you ask the next person who sees her to send her here, please?”

“Of course. Anything for a princess as kind and as gracious as you.”

“Thank you, for all that you have done for me.”

“You’re welcome, as always.”

***

“Elsa, I know you’re in there. Please come out, for your sister wants to see you.”

Elsa quickly stood up and brushed the straw off of her dress when she heard the voice, but grew calmer when she realized that it was only her mother. She began to curtsy when the Queen made a dismissive wave.

“Do not worry about that, my snowflake- no one is here but the horses.”

“Oh, Mama, I tried to find a way around it, but I knew that he would punish me much more severely if I didn’t, and I didn’t mean any harm, and I’m so, so sorry, and….”

“Don’t worry- he has deceived me many times as well, and I know how hard it can be to defy a man in his position. Maybe you will be the one to change that. For right now, you need to go speak with your sister.”

Elsa nodded in response and followed her mother out of the stables.

Leave a Reply

