Letters to my Younger Self: Contact #2

Dear Younger Self,

If you are receivng this, you are in 6th grade, walking home from the bus stop. I am you, except older- I have just begun my sophmore year of college.  The reason why I am contacting you is because something happened in high school that had some negative consequences, but I believe that changing some of my choices could change that. Due to new experimental technologies that could eventually lead to time travel, I am able to contact younger versions of myself.

With that being said, the biggest thing that I can tell you right now is this: embrace these times when you get to walk by yourself for five minutes with no other expectations because you won’t get this in high school. I know that things have changed a lot for you recently, with you moving up to middle school and your new brother or sister that is on the way that you haven’t thought much about a lot of the things that the other girls have been- that is perfectly okay. You’re going to meet a lot of new people this year that are more similar to you than you could ever imagine, and you will be able to connect to them, but this will bring some drama with your new and old friends- some of which you’re going to have to let go of.

You’re going to hear a lot of messages that are along the lines of “think about others before yourself”. What I’m going to tell you is going to be the exact opposite of that since thinking about others is something that you naturally do. Think about yourself more often- take these times when you’re by yourself to think about what you really enjoy and what you don’t, what you want and what you need. If you achieve this balance of yourself and others now, I think that it will be easier to think about others later when you have to make important decisions that are going to affect your friends and family. It’ll also be easier to think about what you really want when you start questioning everything… but that won’t start for awhile yet.

The final thing that I’m going to tell you is that you’re going to end up with a lot more responsibility and a lot less freedom, so use what you do have wisely.

Sincerely,

Your Older Self

 

One thought on “Letters to my Younger Self: Contact #2

Leave a Reply

