Letters to my Younger Self: Contact #1

Dear Younger Self,

If you are receiving this, you are in 5th grade on the ice skating field trip right before Winter Break. I am you, except older- I’ve just completed my freshman (that means first) year of college. Yes, I said college- you can probably hardly believe that since you’ve never really been one to think about the future. That’s going to start changing.

The reason why I am contacting you is because something happened when I was in high school- something I know would make things better for me if it could change. Due to new experimental technologies that could eventually lead to time travel, I am able to contact younger versions of myself, and I hope that I can use this ability to change things for the better.

I know that you don’t feel the need to talk to people the way that others do. People will always tell you that you need to talk more but listen to me when I say that it is 100% okay to not want to talk. In fact, I encourage you to use this- especially on the playground at recess. It’s also perfectly fine to want to be alone- everyone needs to do this sometimes, especially when the conversation turns to something that makes you uncomfortable.

Do you see the girl that you consider to be your best friend skating in the middle of the rink much better than you can? Guess what: she’s not going to be your best friend forever. Eventually, she will care too much about things that you could care less about, and there will be a betrayal. I want you to know that it’s okay to let her go- there are many more people in this world than you can count, and I know that you’ll make friends with at least one of them.

I know that the two of you have been through a lot together, and there’s still one more thing that you will do with her that’s kind of important. One day at recess next Spring, the two of you will meet a really smart girl and you’ll have a discussion about spelling words. I know that sounds really weird, but trust me that it’s going to happen. Just try to stall her from talking to this girl as much as possible, and the conversation will be cut short by the bell.

There’s another thing that I’m going to bring to your attention right now: people think that it’s a big deal when you’re the only girl in a room full of boys. One day when you’re “over-obsessing” about your orchestra lessons (I still do that), your best friend is going to ask if you “like” one of the boys. She’s going to keep insisting that you do, even though you really don’t. Just change the subject, because I know that this isn’t going to happen again in the future.

There’s one final thing I’m going to tell you before I end this- your parents are going to have a HUGE surprise for you at the end of the school year, something you’ve always dreamed of. I’m not going to tell you what it is because your grin when you hear them tell you is going to be your biggest one ever.

That’s it for now- I should let you go back to ice skating. I don’t think you’ve made it around the rink yet!

Sincerely,

Your Older Self

Author’s Note: This is the beginning of a new story. For full details about it, as well as the table of contents, click here.

4 thoughts on “Letters to my Younger Self: Contact #1

Leave a Reply

