ATW S2 Chapter 6: Finding a Solution

the stranger

The stranger introduced himself as Timothy Burton, and said that he had something important to tell Kristofer. The two sat down on the couch, and he tried to explain.

“You see, there’s these things, they’re called hard drives… wait, you guys don’t have a computer, do you. Okay, well, I’ll try to explain this a different way. All of the stars in the sky each represent-”

“I know what you’re trying to tell me,” Kristofer replied. “Ami- she told me about these things. Now, if that was the only thing that you came to tell me, then you can leave.” Kristofer got up and walked over to the chess table.

making me happy

“That’s not what I came to tell you,” Timothy said, sitting down to play with Kristofer. “What I came to tell you is that we figured out what happened with that flicker- at least, part of it.”

“Then tell me.”

“I’m sure that you’ve figured out that some sims are smarter than others.”

“Like Lacie being a genius?”

“Yes, like that. The thing is, there’s something that prevents geniuses from doing some of the things that most other sims can do without any problems. That’s the part that we’re unsure of. For now, we’re not allowing any sim with the genius trait to do any sort of inter-game travel, since we know that in this case, that caused issues. As an extra precaution, we aren’t letting a large number of sims gather in the same area at once, in case the extra brain activity is being used as an indicator. Do you understand this, so far?”

“I think I am- you’re saying that Lacie can’t do any traveling, Ami’s a genius, and we can’t have any big parties?”

“Yes- you’re a very clever child, did you know that?”

“That’s what people always tell me- they say that no other kid can understand what I can.”

“Why do you think you can understand so much?”

“I think it’s because everyone expects me to be a genius like Lacie, so I feel like I have to work harder to meet their expectations. No, I’m not a genius, if that’s what you were thinking.”

“I have to go now, but there’s one thing I want you to work on. If you can make some sort of a potion on that chemistry set of yours that can somehow decrease unnecessary brain activity, and it passes the safety test, we might be able to mass produce it and start lifting these restrictions.”

***

finding a solution

Kristofer started working harder than ever, experimenting to see which chemical solutions worked and which ones didn’t. That was the only thing he would do, day upon day, until people began to notice.

what's he doing

“What do you think he’s trying to do?” Lilliana asked Lacie.

“I really don’t know, Mom,” Lacie replied.

“Hey, Kristofer, do you want to take a break and watch some T.V.?” Lilliana asked.

“No, I’m working on something,” Kristofer replied, annoyed.

3 thoughts on “ATW S2 Chapter 6: Finding a Solution

Leave a Reply

