ATW S2 Chapter 0.5

This chapter written by my simself.

you have to

“I know that this is quite a bit of responsibility for a newlywed-couple, but I need you to do one last thing for me,” Alexander told Hailey and Henry David. “When I was in my younger years, I had a bit of a ‘romantic connection’, basically an affair, with Roxana Leavitt, and it resulted in a child. I knew about this, but she had already raised two children of her own, so I assumed that she was perfectly capable of raising a third, and simply paid her child support.”

“Wait… the Leavitts… don’t tell me that’s Duke’s family,” Henry David muttered.

“Yes, it is, and Roxana also has an older daughter named Nathalie. Anyways, it turns out that the child didn’t even have his own crib- he was sleeping on a nightstand in Nathalie’s bedroom, where he could’ve easily rolled off onto the floor. Luckily this was caught on a random home inspection, and he was immediately removed from their household. The courts decided that they couldn’t be reinstated with custody, and wanted me to take him in. However, as both of you know, I am very close to getting a visit from the Reaper, so giving custody of him to me would’ve been pointless. Instead, they asked me which of my children I wanted to give custody of him to. Henry David Goth, you were the obvious choice for this, so I need you and Hailey to sign this document that will make the two of you the official guardians of Berjes Leavitt.”

“Dad… what will we tell him… I mean, will he even look like us-”

“You know that your mom raised her half-sister, and this is no different.”

“But that was only for her teen years,” Henry David attempted to argue, though he knew it was a lost cause. His father would never trust Annabeth or Mary Anne to raise the child.

“Don’t worry, we can do this,” Hailey said. “I mean, it’s not like we’re attempting to raise a baby chimpanzee or something, and even that’s been done. Please, let’s just take this kid in and give parenting a chance. If for some reason it doesn’t work out, we can always find another solution.”

“Fine, we’ll try it- pass me the pen,” Henry David replied reluctantly.

what Beatrix wants

Meanwhile, Beatrix attended to Berjes, and the way that she looked at him- I knew that this was what she wanted to do, so I promised her that she would get to have at least one child, and that she might even get to raise her siblings’ children.

Hailey found it

That evening, Hailey worked on a small favor that I had asked of her. I waited patiently, staring at her computer screen, watching for the little red error box that would inevitably pop up. Finally it did, and Hailey seemed to be feeling confident about her accomplishment. I waited for her to decode those little Simlish characters on the screen and tell me what this meant, but quickly her expression changed and she ran for the bathroom.

morning sickness

I worried about why her puke came out green even though there hadn’t been any salads in the house since Rosalynn and Alexander first moved in as young adults, but a short while later she was done and came back to the bedroom.

I'm sorry

That one facial expression told me everything that I needed to know.

“Yes, I get it, it’s that one trait that I thought it was. Oh, and I’ve got a little something for you,” I said, handing her a box, before making myself disappear into the invisible camera once more.

Hailey's pregnant

After taking the test found in the box, Hailey found out the cause of her illness: she was pregnant.

As her husband came in to get ready for bed, she told him, “I’m pregnant, and I know that you’re not going to want to have to take care of Berjes when we’ve got our own little one on the way, but I’ve got a plan- after Alexander is gone, he won’t be able to dictate which of his children is taking care of his son. We can simply pass Berjes on to whoever wants him, and having our own child that we’re trying to raise, they’ll completely understand and won’t ask any questions.”

After taking a second to process, Henry David replied, “I’m happy that we’ve got our own little nooboo on the way. As for Berjes, we’ll have to wait and see how things are. Now come here and give me a bro bump.”

Author’s Note: Chapters with a “.5” like this one are going to be flashbacks, and will be untitled. What Hailey found was something corresponding to that little “flicker” found in Season 1, Chapter 10.

<<Previous– Season 1 SimFacts

>>Next– S2 Chapter 1: The (Good) Cake Thief

3 thoughts on “ATW S2 Chapter 0.5

Leave a Reply

